[178] Yes, You Can Be Functionally Anti-Social

For all the people trying to force me to make friends with people I don’t want to be friends with, just stop.

OMG, Brian, how could you say such a thing?!  Don’t you want to have 1000 friends?

NO!

I’m just going to say this now: you are beyond delusional if you think you have an obligation to befriend everyone you meet.  It’s like how you can’t get two mismatching pieces on a jigsaw puzzle to fit together, you can’t make the square block fit into the circle hole, you can’t get 7 when you try to add 1 and 1 together…you cannot expect to become friends with everyone.

“I love you long time” just won’t work on everyone.  There are those who are outgoing and extroverted and there are those who aren’t.  Don’t try to force the introvert to do things or take part in situations to make him or her uncomfortable.  You have to respect his or her comfort zone; if she doesn’t want to go to Janet Reno’s Dance Party, don’t try to force her to!  No means no and any coercive measures might mean a rape charge is coming your way.  Good luck explaining to that community populated with women ages 18-24 why you are a registered sex-offender…

If a guy (or anyone) wants to be kept alone, respect that.  I am happy with the friends I have now and I really don’t need to know EVERYONE you hang out with, especially if they turn out to be losers and lames.

It’s all about quality over quantity right?  I’d rather be alone with just two or three people I really care about than be in the company of 40 people that a) I don’t care about and b)I know would not care about me.

Why race each other to see who can make the most friends?  What you all should do is make an inventory of your friends.

  • Take note of the ones you talk to daily.
  • Take note of the ones you are cool with.
  • Take note of the ones who give you headaches.  Those who give more headaches will guarantee they move further down into oblivion.
  • Take note of those who have not spoken to you in months.  Or even years.

You can, with minimal effort, figure out who are your primary, secondary, and tertiary friends.  You will impress no one if you literally make spreadsheets in Excel containing all this info.  But once you know which people in your life really matter, you can finally devote the time to those who matter, and care less about those who need to be cared less.

Yes, lonely males, that might mean you should stop sending messages on facebook to that girl who doesn’t talk to you anymore but you still think about while you molest yourself.

Don’t be offended if I don’t want to hang out with you—chances are I legitimately don’t want to be in your presence.

3 Responses to “[178] Yes, You Can Be Functionally Anti-Social”

  1. Mo Rocking Says:

    I agree with parts of this, but some parts of it I don’t. “I’d rather be alone with just two or three people I really care about,” is the part I agree most with and it’s something that a lot of people should come to realize.

    Something to add onto this:
    Consider how much you’re sacrificing for a “friendship” and how much they are. If you’re constantly making the calls to hang out, constantly including them in social situations, and they’re not planning social events involving you (but planning others without you), then something is wrong.

    I don’t think you need a physical list to determine who your true friends are. We humans are generally smart enough to figure that all out in that head of yours with minimal effort.

    • Brian Says:

      Too much sacrifice is something I should’ve addressed and is a valid issue to point out.

      A friendship has too much imbalance if one person is the only one really doing anything to keep it afloat.

      If you’re constantly making the calls to hang out, constantly including them in social situations, and they’re not planning social events involving you (but planning others without you), then something is wrong.

      This describes exactly how it is with one of my best friends. Even after telling her how great a friend she’s been all these years, I still feel the same—she always conveniently excludes me from outings and seems to care more about others. I don’t know if that has to do with the fact she and I just know two vastly different types of people and have not really kept in touch in years.

      • Mo Rocking Says:

        I eventually started taking notice of those who do put in that effort, and those are the ones who I actually started caring about. I wish you luck in your future endeavors. I’ll continue to watch your blog.


Leave a Reply

